Published on:

Arizona Misdemeanor Assault Laws, Classifications and Penalties

“Understanding the strict Arizona Assault laws, is the  first step to defending your charges. Being familiar with them, also contributes to prevention.”

Misdemeanor Assault Laws in Arizona

If you face any type of assault charge, you should consult a Chandler criminal defense attorney to discuss your charges and defense options. This offense sometimes referred to as “simple assault” charges. And although they are classified as misdemeanors, they carry severe penalties due to the fact that they are considered crimes against a victim. Misdemeanor assaults are classified into three different categories Class 1; Class 2; and Class 3; with Class 1 charges and penalties being the most severe:

Misdemeanor Assault: A.R.S. § 13-1203:

A person commits may be charged with Misdemeanor Assault if they:

  • A.R.S. § 13-1203: (A) (1).   Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing any physical injury to another person; or
  • A.R.S. § 13-1203:  (A) (2).    Intentionally placing another person in reasonable apprehension of imminent physical injury; or
  • A.R.S. § 13-1203:  (A) (3).    Knowingly touching another person with the intent to injure, insult or provoke such person.

Misdemeanor Assault Classifications A.R.S. § 13-1203

 Misdemeanor Assault committed knowingly or intentionally is classified as:

  •   A.R.S. § 13-1203: 1.  Class 1 Misdemeanors;
  •  A.R.S. § 13-1203:  2   Class 2 Misdemeanors;
  •  A.R.S. § 13-1203:  3.  Class 3 Misdemeanors;

Misdemeanor Assault Penalties A.R.S. § Chapter 7 and 8

Penalties for Misdemeanor Assault convictions are punishable by:

Class 1 Assault Misdemeanors: Up to 6 months in Jail and $2500.00 fine;

  • Class 2 Assault  Misdemeanors: Up to 4 months in Jail and $750.00 fine;
  • Class 3 Assault  Misdemeanors:  Up to 30 days in Jail and $500.00 fine;

Other penalties may be ordered in all three categories including additional fees, costs, victim restitution; anger management classes; probation; and other penalties the court deems necessary.

Criminal Defense Lawyer Chandler AZ

If you have been arrested for misdemeanor assault in Chandler, AZ you should contact a criminal defense attorney to discuss you matter and defense options. Even for a misdemeanor assault, convictions carry harsh penalties. Without qualified legal representation, the court will only hear the victim’s and prosecution’s side of the story. Your criminal attorney will investigate the matter further and look for evidence or facts in your favor that may help mitigate the charges. There may be defenses that you are not aware of, that if used effectively may help get your charges dismissed or reduced. In order to get any type of favorable decision in your case, however, you will need to retain legal representation by a qualified criminal defense attorney. If retained, your criminal defense lawyer will make sure your rights are protected; defend your charges; and get the best possible resolution to your matter..

If you “Like” this article please let us know! Feel Free to subscribe and “Share”!

Law Office of James Novak

4500 S. Lakeshore Drive

Tempe AZ 85282

(480) 413-1499