Articles Tagged with Misdemeanor

Published on:

In 2012, Tempe Police made 2,479 arrests or issued citations for illegal consumption by minors. The legal drinking age in Arizona is 21.

Students make a large portion of the Tempe population. Spring semester brings with it graduations, celebrations, prom, sporting events and other festivities. The ASU and Tempe Police brace themselves and prepare diligently to arrest offenders for violations of curfew, fake IDs, minor consumption, disorderly conduct, and other crimes that often surround festivities.

But other charges such as DUI, Underage 21 DUI, assault, and aggravated assault charges also surround parties, and other spring-time festivities. These are more serious crimes, and severe penalties, including jail or even prison terms, large fines, fees, probation, loss of driver’s license, and more, especially when they are classified as felonies.

Published on:

In Arizona, one primary factor for charging a suspect with possession of Marijuana with intent to sell is the quantity of a drug found in a person’s possession. In order to prosecute these charges there must be some additional evidence presented to support the charge. Examples may include proof beyond a reasonable doubt that you were intending to exchange something for the drugs such as cash, weapons, or other illegal drugs.

It could also include evidence of paraphernalia in close proximity to the drugs such as scales, ledgers, text or telephone records; baggies and other evidence that suggest the Marijuana was in a person’s possession for sale or intent to sell. Sometimes, co-defendant’s testimony in the same case or a different case leads to finding, arresting and prosecuting suspects for possession with intent to sell.

Classifications for Marijuana for sale or intent to sell

Published on:

The main difference between Misdemeanor Theft and Felony Theft charges is the dollar value of the amount stolen. The second difference is the penalties involved. The higher the dollar value of the stolen property or service, the more severe the penalties if convicted.

Under ARS § 13 – 1802 theft charges will be brought as Misdemeanors unless the market or dollar value of the property exceeds $1,000.00. Theft crimes involving items that exceed that amount will be brought as a felony.

The exception to this is if it is a firearm or an animal. Charges for theft of an animal or gun, will be charged as a felony, even if the dollar value is below $1,000.00,

Published on:

The two main differences between Misdemeanor Domestic Violence and Aggravated Domestic Violence (felony) Charges are:

  • Classification:  Domestic Violence is a Misdemeanor. Aggravated Domestic Violence is a Felony.
  • Penalties: Misdemeanor Domestic Violence convictions do not carry prison sentences. Felony Domestic violence convictions will result in prison sentencing.  
Published on:

Synthetic Drugs

“Some people mistakenly think that because a drug is synthetic or imitation, that it is legal.”

Law enforcement officials issued 17 search warrants in Maricopa County, as part of a nationwide operation targeting simulated illegal drugs including Cocaine, Meth, Marijuana and synthetic chemicals. The effects of such sales are being called an “epidemic” of the designer drug market.

Raids were conducted targeting manufactures, distributors, retailers, and individuals involved in sales of simulated drugs. Law enforcement in Arizona seized over $3 million in assets; over 3,000 pounds of synthetic Marijuana products and chemicals, and over 700 pounds of bath salts, including related substances, firearms and vehicles used in the illegal operations.

Published on:

“Understanding the strict Arizona Assault laws, is the  first step to defending your charges. Being familiar with them, also contributes to prevention.”

Misdemeanor Assault Laws in Arizona

If you face any type of assault charge, you should consult a Chandler criminal defense attorney to discuss your charges and defense options. This offense sometimes referred to as “simple assault” charges. And although they are classified as misdemeanors, they carry severe penalties due to the fact that they are considered crimes against a victim. Misdemeanor assaults are classified into three different categories Class 1; Class 2; and Class 3; with Class 1 charges and penalties being the most severe:

Published on:

“If you retain legal representation early enough, your attorney may be able to keep your Misdemeanor charges from being elevated to a Felony. In some cases, your attorney can help to prevent criminal charges from being brought at all.”

Arrested for DUI or other Crime in Chandler AZ  

If you were arrested for a DUI or criminal charges in Chandler, and you are not sure if they are  misdemeanor or felony charges,  you should contact a criminal defense attorney. You can discuss the events that have taken place; documents received; and your concerns. They will be able to provide you with insight concerning your charges and potential defense options.

Published on:

“Good Scottsdale DUI lawyers can sometimes help prevent your misdemeanor charges from being raised to a felony; in some cases, they can help prevent criminal charges from being brought against you at all.”

Scottsdale DUI and Criminal Charges

If you were arrested for a DUI or criminal offense, but aren’t sure if they are misdemeanor or felony charges, you should contact a Scottsdale criminal lawyer as soon as possible.  You can discuss the events that have taken place; documents received; and your concerns. They will be able to provide you with insight concerning your charges and potential defense options.