Published on:

Maricopa County Gets Funds for More DUI Enforcement

This week, the State of Arizona granted Maricopa County Sheriff’s Office (MCSO) a sum of $230,000.00 for DUI and Speeding enforcement.  The funds will be used to increase patrols; pay over-time for DUI investigations; drug recognition; and detention.

In addition to having some of the toughest laws and penalties for DUI – DWI, Arizona also has some of the best Impaired Driver enforcement programs in the USA.  For police officers they provide strong training programs; opportunities for Drug and DUI phlebotomy training; Drug Recognition Education (DRE);  tenured prosecutor as the Traffic Safety Resource Prosecutor (“TSRP”).; Defense Expert Banks;  extra funding for special task forces such as DUI and Underage drinking;  special motorcycle task forces; other DUI processing vehicles and other resources.

Arizona DUI laws

  • A.R.S. § 28-1321. Implied Consent Laws – Police have the authority to suspend a motorist’s driver license for refusing to take a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) whether they are impaired or not;
  • A.R.S. § 4-244.  Underage 21 Drinking   – This is also the called “Zero Tolerance” law.  It is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 to drive or be in physical control of a motor vehicle while they are under the influence of any level of alcohol;
  • A.R.S. § 28-1381 (A) (1) Impaired to the Slightest Degree – It is unlawful for a person to it driver or be in actual physical control of a vehicle if they are driving impaired to the slightest degree due to alcohol or drugs.  This applies even if the person’s BAC is below the legal limit of 0.08%;
  • A.R.S. § 28-1381 (A) (2) DUI – BAC Exceeds Legal Limit 0.08% –  BAC that exceeds .08%, but is below .15%;
  • A.R.S. § 28-1382 (A) (1) Extreme DUI – BAC that exceeds 0.15 %  or more, but is less than  0.20%;
  • A.R.S. § 28-1382 (A) (2) Super Extreme DUI – BAC that exceeds 0.20  %  or more;
  • A.R.S. § 28-1383 (A) (1) Aggravated DUI (Felony) while driving on suspended or revoked driver’s license;
  •  A.R.S. § 28-1383 (A) (2) Aggravated DUI (Felony) if it is the 3rd or more DUI within 7 years or 84 months;
  • A.R.S. § 28-1383 (A) (3). Aggravated DUI (Felony) with a passenger under fifteen years in of age is in the vehicle.

DUI Consequences – Overview of penalties

Misdemeanor DUI charges are Class 1 Misdemeanors.  Penalties for convictions begin with 10 days jail to 180 day jail terms; fines, fees, costs, assessments $1200.00 to $3750.00; Ignition Interlock Device (IID)on Vehicle at driver’s expense beginning 6 months to 2 years; Driver’s License suspension from 90 days to revocation of up to 1 year; drug/alcohol counseling or treatment; restitution, and probation.  The higher the BAC level the more severe the penalties.

Felony DUI charges may be classified as Class 6 or Class 4 felonies.  All felonies in Arizona expose a person to prison sentencing.  Penalties for felony DUI may begin with 30 days in jail and prison terms of up to 8 months depending on BAC, and aggravated circumstances. Fines and fees of at least $4,000; IID on vehicle 2 years; driver’s license revocation for 3 years; drug/alcohol counseling or treatment; restitution, and probation.  As with Misdemeanors, the severity of penalties is based on the degree of BAC levels, and aggravating circumstances.

DUI Attorney Tempe AZ

You should always consult a qualified criminal defense attorney if you face DUI charges of any kind, to discuss your matter and options for defense. If retained, they will protect your rights, and defend your charges; and see that you get the best possible resolution in your case.