Arizona Public Records Release Law
Under Arizona’s Freedom of Information Laws pursuant to A.R.S. § 39 – 121 is entitled to request their DUI police incident report. Your report is required to be released to you when it is available and upon receipt of the required fee by the police department
How to request a copy of your DUI incident report
- To obtain a copy of your DUI incident report you can complete a written request form. The form can be found at the tempe.gov/policerecords/ website. Look for “Request for Police Records” form number “TPD 706 Rev. 11/10.”
- Mail your request and check or money order to the following address:
Tempe Police Department
120 E. 5th Street
Tempe, AZ 85281
Tempe Police Department currently does not accept requests by phone, or electronically, for DUI and Criminal charge incidents.
Additional information about obtaining your DUI Police Report:
- Telephone number for Tempe Police Dept. Records Division is (480) 350-8304.
- Current lobby hours to go in pick up your report in person are Monday through Friday 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.
- The average time for release of DUI or criminal report for charges not under investigation is 5 to 7 business days.
- The cost for the report copy is $5.00 up to 20 pages; and 0.25 for each additional page. (Most Police Reports do not exceed 20 pages).
- Payments are accepted by cash, check or money order. Checks or money orders should be made payable to City of Tempe. Your payment should accompany your completed request form.
- If a DUI or criminal incident is still under investigation, the police report can still be requested. However, the Police Department is unable to send it until the Police investigation is completed.
Requesting a Police Report in Tempe, AZ
If you were arrested for DUI or criminal charges, you should consult an experienced criminal defense attorney to discuss your case and options for defense. If retained, your attorney will request the police report for you. They will usually obtain more comprehensive information. This includes: 911 recording transcripts, surveillance videos, and/or any other information available that the prosecution will be using as evidence. You can obtain a copy from your attorney in this event. You should carefully review your report and let your attorney know if there is inaccurate or incorrect information on the report.